Library guides: Streaming platforms: TV and film

Introduction

Resources for video and sound content you can use for your research and your assignments.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

BoB is a TV and radio streaming service for education. You can view and create clips, and share broadcast programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels with an archive going back to 2006. You have 30 days to request a recording after broadcast.

Tip: To find films search by title, actor or director.

You cannot watch or listen to live TV or radio or access the full service outside of the UK due to licensing regulations.

Kanopy

Kanopy is an online streaming platform of films, documentaries and educational videos in a range of subjects and disciplines.

You can share videos, create playlists and make clips.

TRILT

TRILT (Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching) contains listings for more than 560 TV and radio channels from 1923 onwards. To search TRILT, click on Sign In and enter City, University of London.

A TRILT record will tell you if a programme is available in BoB or as an off-air recording.

MediaPlus

MediaPlus provides access to videos, images and sound recordings from high profile collections such as:

MediaPlus is a valuable resource for those studying 20th century British social, political & cultural history. You can cross-search MediaPlus or browse content by subject or collection.

CDs and DVDs at City St George's

The audio visual collection at City St George's includes DVDs and CDs across a range of disciplines. You can find it on Level 5 of the Northampton Square Library.

To browse the collection online, enter your search terms in Library Search, then narrow your results to content type 'DVD' or 'Compact Disc'.

You will need your ID card to borrow DVDs and CDs. You can borrow five DVDs or CDs at a time.

Beyond City

BFI Player
Access the free collections of archive video material such as NHS on Film, the First World War and Suffragettes on Film.

EUscreen
Free online access to thousands of items of audiovisual heritage. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries.
British Council Film Collection
Digitised and downloadable collection of short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.
British Pathe
Watch thousands of television clips from one of the worlds oldest media companies.