Finding books and e-books
- Enter a title, keywords or author into Library Search to locate books and e-books.
- Use the 'Refine your search' options to limit the content type to 'book / e-book'.
- E-books: To access e-books on and off campus open the 'Full text online' link from the results section and enter your @city.ac.uk email and password.
- Print books: The availability, shelfmark, library location, and loan period are displayed. There may be more copies available at other locations - select the link to view the full item record.
Shelfmarks for Sociology
The books relating to Sociology can be found in the Northampton Square Library. The enclosed table gives you some useful shelfmarks if you want to browse the library shelves for specific subject areas.
At the Northampton Square Library, books with shelfmarks 0 - 302.545 can be found on level 3; books with shelfmarks 303.3 - 328.94092 can be found on level 4, and books with shelfmarks 330 and above are shelved on level 5.
| Subject | Shelfmark |
|---|---|
| Asylum | 323.631 |
| Citizenship | 323.6 |
| Civil rights | 323 |
| Class | 305.5 |
| Criminology | 364 |
| Culture | 306 |
| Emigration and immigration | 304.8 and 325 |
| Ethnicity | 305.8 |
| Family | 306.85 |
| Forced migration | 325.21 |
| Gender | 305.3 |
| Globalization | 303.482 |
| Human rights | 323 |
| Information society | 303.4833 |
| Internet | 004.678 and 302.231 |
| Mass media | 302.23 |
| Political sociology | 306.2 |
| Qualitative research | 302.723 |
| Race | 305.8 |
| Refugees | 325.21 |
| Research design | 300.72 |
| Social conflict | 303.6 |
| Social movements | 303.484 |
| Social theory | 301.01 |
| Sociology | 301 |
E-books collections and dictionaries
-
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Collection of e-books in the humanities and social sciences.
-
Oxford English Dictionary
English Language dictionary, covering the meaning, history and pronunciation of almost all words used in English. The history of individual words and the English language is traced back through quotations from primary sources.
-
Social Theory
Full-text access to the work of influential sociological theorists such as Webster, Bourdieu, Marx, Durkheim, Habermas and Foucault.
Sage Research Methods
Use Sage Research Methods to find information about writing a research question, conducting a literature review, and analysing the data.
-
Sage Research Methods online
Several hundred research methods, e-books, videos and case studies. Provides information on research methods in health and social sciences. Designed to answer methods questions at each stage of the research process.
-
Sage Research Methods Cases
Collection of case studies of real social research that can be used in teaching. Cases are designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
-
Sage Research Methods Video
Contains over 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, interviews with expert researchers, and more, covering every step of the research process.
-
Sage Campus
Collection of 34 self-paced courses covering critical skills and research methods that can be applied across all stages of academic study.