Harvard style citing and referencing
Harvard style citations are in-text citations using the author's surname and the year the resource was published, like this: (Clifford, 2018).
At the end of the work, a list of references appears in alphabetical order in the Reference List, so that readers can look up a particular author and find the full details of their work.
-
Sample text and reference list using the Harvard StyleAn example of how Harvard Style citations and references look in your work.
Cite Them Right
Harvard Style references can be laid out in a number of ways. Library Services recommends using the Cite Them Right standard for Harvard Style references.
-
Cite Them Right online
Online guide to referencing. It will help you to reference books, journals, articles, websites, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. It includes guidance and examples for a number of referencing styles, especially Harvard.
Cite Them Right is also available as a print book:
-
Cite Them Right
by
Call Number: 808.027 PEAISBN: 9781350477261Publication Date: 2025-07-10Cite Them Right is renowned as the most easy-to-use guide to referencing text available to students and authors. Academics and teachers rely on the advice in Cite them right to guide their students in the skills of identifying and referencing information sources and avoiding plagiarism. It provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The fully revised and updated 13th edition contains: coverage of new sources, including registered designs and AI-generated material; guidance on working with AI tools as part of the process of working on an assignment so that students understand the implications for maintaining academic integrity and avoiding plagiarism; a short test-yourself quiz which helps students to assess their understanding of key topics.
Other useful books for referencing
-
Research Methods for Business Students
by
Call Number: 650.072 SAUISBN: 1292208783Publication Date: 2019Appendix 1 of the Saunders contains an overview of referencing different types of materials in Harvard Referencing Style as well as brief notes for how different types of materials should be used. -
Business Research Methods 6E
by
Call Number: 658.0072 BRYISBN: 9780198869443Publication Date: 2022-10-31'Student experience' features provide practical tips, presenting personal insights and advice from fellow students to help you avoid common mistakes and follow others' successful strategies when undertaking your own research project. Above all else, the book places strong emphasis on those challenges faced most frequently by students, such as choosing a research question, planning a project, and writing it up. -
Essential Study and Employment Skills for Business and Management Students
by
Call Number: 658.0071 GALISBN: 9780198724001Publication Date: 2016-07-12Chapter 5 of this book, 'Locating Information and Smart Search Skills', has an excellent section on how to cite and reference sources. -
Academic Writing
by
Call Number: 808.0428 BAIISBN: 9781138048744Publication Date: 2018Unit 1.8 covers referencing and using quotes. It explains different systems of references and they should appear in reference lists. -
Doing Essays and Assignments
by
Call Number: 808.066 GREISBN: 9781473912076Publication Date: 2016This title gives very straightforward practical advice for what sorts of references to include in your work and what tutors look for in your work as a whole. It is written in very accessible langue and suitable from both undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Laying out references to common source types
These types of sources are frequently referenced. Follow the link to see how to lay out a Harvard Style reference to them.
Citing and referencing company and financial markets information
Cite Them Right Online offers a few options for citing and referencing the kind of material you find in Company Information and Financial Markets databases:
-
Financial reports from online databasesUse this option for databases with a web address like Fame, Mergent Market Atlas, or WRDS
-
Reports from other databases with no URLUse this format when citing and referencing databases like Bloomberg or Eikon, which have no URL for you to refer to.
-
Company annual reportsUse this option when you are referring to Annual Reports published directly by a company.
-
Research reportsMany institutions produce reports that can be used in your work. Use this layout to reference them.
Citing and referencing market research
There are several useful options for citing and referencing Market Research and Statistics:
-
Market research reports from online databasesGreat for written reports from databases like Mintel, Marketline and IBISWorld.
-
Research reportsMany institutions produce reports that can be used in your work. Use this layout to reference them.
-
Government publicationsUse this layout if you are citing demographic statistics from a government department or other large institution.