What is a database?
Academic databases are searchable collections of academic literature. They provide access to a wide range of scholarly content including journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Learn how to search databases with our literature searching guide, or look at our YouTube channel.
If you are conducting a systematic review, see our systematic review guide for guidance.
Databases
-
APA PsycINFO
Access to international literature in psychology, behavioural science and social sciences from the 1880s to present.
-
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases covering controlled trials, systematic reviews, review protocols and more.
-
EmbaseProduced by Elsevier. High quality database for research across medicine and health sciences which is updated daily and recommended for systematic reviews. Covers biomedicine and pharmacology; particularly strong in the areas of drugs, toxicology and psychiatry.
-
Global Index MedicusThe Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
-
Medline on Ovid
Medline database on the Ovid search platform. From US National Library of Medicine. Covers clinical medicine, including the allied health fields. Includes biological and physical sciences and humanities where they relate to health care.
-
PubMedPubMed is a free version of Medline, published by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). Click on the link above to access a customised version of PubMed displaying links for full text access via St George's Library.
-
Web of Science
Web of Science gives access to the Web of Science Core Collection (including Citation Reference Searching) Conference Proceedings and Journal Citation Reports (Science and Social Science).
Web of Science is part of the Clarivate group of products which includes Essential Science Indicators and Journal Citation Reports.
-
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
An accessible source of anatomical knowledge with simple language and realistic, 3D visuals. You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account
-
Complete Anatomy
Complete Anatomy is a 3D anatomy platform including models and videos, with an extensive library of structures and muscle movements. Complete Anatomy is a 3D Anatomy app that can be downloaded from the app store on your device.
An activation code is required for full access to the app:
Tooting based students - access information can be obtained in the Library Canvas module
Tooting based staff - please email the library team to request the staff activation code
Use of Complete Anatomy is subject to the Complete Anatomy Terms of Use and Privacy Policy, consent to these terms is inferred by use of the resource.
Staff can create and share content via Complete Anatomy, and track student engagement and attainment with this content. It includes lectures, screens and quizzes on the Complete Anatomy platform. Interactions with the content are tracked in the Complete Anatomy platform and a digital record is created which staff can use to review student attainment in quizzes at both an individual and cohort level. These records may be used by staff to inform curriculum planning and could be exported to use in student records.
For support with access to library resources, please email journals@sgul.ac.uk
-
AccessCardiologyAccessCardiology includes access to e-books, cases, videos, and Q&As in the field of cardiology in areas such as interventional cardiology and electrophysiology.
-
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine includes access to 130+ e-books organised by basic sciences, clinical medicine, and healthcare systems. The AccessMedicine resource also includes access to cases, videos, and Q&As.
-
ClinicalKey Student
A collection of textbooks covering clinical specialties and physiotherapy, including Grays Anatomy for Students, Medical Physiology and Tidy's Physiotherapy.
-
JoVE Science EducationJoVE Science Education is a library of video demonstrations covering a wide range of subjects in science and medicine. Includes sections on: Basic and Advanced Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Psychology, and more.
-
LWW Health Library Medical Education Collection
Includes access to key texts, videos, cases and questions in the following collections:
- Medical Education (Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology/Immunology, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physical Examination, Physiology and more)
- Occupational Therapy (Assessment, Foundations, Kinesiology and Biomechanics, Theory, Neuroscience and more)
-
Oxford Academic
Provides access to e-books and journals. Subject areas covered include law, health, social sciences and others.
-
BMJ Best Practice
BMJ Group Best Practice is an online point of care tool that gives healthcare professionals access to the latest information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions.
-
BMJ Case Reports
Collection of peer reviewed clinical case reports from the BMJ Group. For author submissions to Case Reports, please email journals@sgul.ac.uk for the BMJ Group Case Reports Fellowship Code.
-
BNF (MedicinesComplete)Provides healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines. Includes the Nurse Prescribers’ Formulary.
How to use learning platforms
How to: use JoVE
Learn how to use JoVE, a learning platform covering science, lab skills and clinical skills.
How to: AccessMedicine
Learn how to use AccessMedicine, a learning platform with flashcards, self-assessment quizzes and interactive exercises.