Academic databases are searchable collections of academic literature. They provide access to a wide range of scholarly content including journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Learn how to search databases with our literature searching guide, or look at our YouTube channel.
If you are conducting a systematic review, see our systematic review guide for guidance.
Medline database on the Ovid search platform. From US National Library of Medicine. Covers clinical medicine, including the allied health fields. Includes biological and physical sciences and humanities where they relate to health care.
Web of Science gives access to the Web of Science Core Collection (including Citation Reference Searching) Conference Proceedings and Journal Citation Reports (Science and Social Science).
Web of Science is part of the Clarivate group of products which includes Essential Science Indicators and Journal Citation Reports.
Collection of databases covering controlled trials, systematic reviews, review protocols and more.
An accessible source of anatomical knowledge with simple language and realistic, 3D visuals. You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account
Complete Anatomy is a 3D anatomy platform including models and videos, with an extensive library of structures and muscle movements. Complete Anatomy is a 3D Anatomy app that can be downloaded from the app store on your device.
An activation code is required for full access to the app:
Tooting based students - access information can be obtained in the Library Canvas module
Tooting based staff - please email the library team to request the staff activation code
Use of Complete Anatomy is subject to the Complete Anatomy Terms of Use and Privacy Policy, consent to these terms is inferred by use of the resource.
Staff can create and share content via Complete Anatomy, and track student engagement and attainment with this content. It includes lectures, screens and quizzes on the Complete Anatomy platform. Interactions with the content are tracked in the Complete Anatomy platform and a digital record is created which staff can use to review student attainment in quizzes at both an individual and cohort level. These records may be used by staff to inform curriculum planning and could be exported to use in student records.
For support with access to library resources, please email journals@sgul.ac.uk
Activation code required for access.
Includes access to key texts, videos, cases and questions in the following collections:
Log in via Shibboleth to register for a personal account and access personalised features such as bookmarking and quizzes.